## List of Contributors

Charles Chasie	Activist and Researcher, Kohima, Nagaland
Sanjoy Hazarika	Centre for North East Studies and Policy Research (C-NES),
	Guwahati and New Delhi (also Consulting Editor of The Statesman,
	film maker and author)
Kyoko Inoue	Daito Bunka University, Japan
M.N.Karna	Former Professor, Department of Sociology, North Eastern Hill
	University, Shillong, Meghalaya
Udayon Misra	Department of English, Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh, Assam
Mayumi Murayama	South Asian Studies Group, Institute of Developing Economies
	(IDE-JETRO)
Bhagat Oinam	Department of Philosophy, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New
	Delhi
Lal Pudaite	Former Ambassador of India to Myanmar, Aizawl, Mizoram
Arunodoy Saha	Department of Economics, Tripura University, Agartala, Tripura
A.C. Sinha	Former professor, Department of Sociology, North Eastern Hill
	University, Shillong, Meghalaya (currently in New Delhi)

vi

## Acknowledgement

Many individuals and organisations in Japan and India extended their cooperation and shared information, for which we would like to express our utmost gratitude. Here, their names are enlisted with profound appreciation. Although some of the names may not have been included in the list due to my not being able to note down all the names whom we met, I would like to emphasize that their kind support has not slipped out of our memories.

In Japan, Ms. Etsuyo Arai and Ms. Yoshiko Suzuki, the colleagues at IDE-JETRO, Mr. Hiroshi Sato, former Director of IDE-JETRO, Professor Masanori Koga, Professor Akinobu Kawai and Professor Kei Nemoto were a source of intellectual stimulus. The timely and flexible administrative support by Ms. Kumiko Sakumoto was an indispensable part of the project.

It was a pleasant and memorable experience to work with the Centre for North East Studies and Policy Research (C-NES). Besides those who contributed with insightful articles, we are extremely grateful to those who assisted the research and coordinated the visit of Japanese team to India; Ms. Patricia Mukhim, activist and scholar, Shillong, Meghalaya; Mr. Ajay Kumar Gupta, an entrepreneur, Shillong; Mr. Sanjay Sharma, Coordinator, C-NES, Guwahati; Mr. Prakash Gogoi, researcher, C-NES, Dibrugarh; Mr. Sandeep Vats, C-NES, New Delhi and Mr. and Mrs. Manoj Jalan, an entrepreneur in Dibrugarh.

I would like to record special thanks to the following people who shared their variable time and information; Mr. S. Majumder (JETRO, New Delhi), Mr. Gopal Pillai and Ms. Shefali Shah (Ministry of Commerce & Industry), Lt.Gen. V.K.Nayar (C-NES), Mr. Subir Ghosh (Northeast Vigil), Mr. Subimal Bhattacharjee (Argus Integrated Systems), Dr. Rajan Katoch and Mr. C.Laldinliana (Planning Commission), Mr. Kumar Tuhin, Mr. Ashok Kantha and Ms. Neelam Deo (Ministry of External Affairs), Lt. Gen. B.S. Malik, Mr. Anjan Roy (FICCI), Mr. S. Ghosh (Consulting Engineering Services), Mr. Prabir De (RIS), Dr. T. Kumar and Dr. Suranjit Mitra (DONER), Prof. B. Bhattacharyya (Institute

vii

for Integrated Learning in Management), Mr.Sudeep Banerjee and Mr. C. Balakrishnan (Ministry of Human Resource Development), Mr. Ajay Singh (Governor, Assam), Mr. Himangshu Sekhar Das (Government of Assam), Mr. Dileep Chandan (Asam Bani), Mr. D.D. Lapang (Chief Minister, Meghalaya) and his colleague ministers, Mr. Peter James Bazeley and other high officials (Government of Meghalaya), Mr. P.L.Thanga (NEC), Dr. Belajied Syiem (Syiem of Khyrim), Mr. A.H. Scott Lyngdoh (former Finance Minister of Meghalaya) and his family, Mr. M.M.Jacob (Governor, Meghalaya), Prof. Mrinal Miri, Prof. Darlando Khathing and his colleagues (North Eastern Hill University), Mr. Chris Cajee (Anderson), Mr. Prabhat Sawyan and Mr. Larsing. M. (Centre Point Group Enterprise), Mr. Ramesh Bawri (Meghalaya State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission), Mr. Archie Kharpuri and Mr. A. Zulf (Grace Systems), Mr. A. Bhattacharjee (Superintendent) and his officers (Land Customs Station, Dawki), Mr. Subhash Agarwala, and Mr. Sudip De, Mr. Sanjib Lahkar, and Mr. Chinmoy Sharma (FINER: Federation of Industries & Commerce of North Eastern Region), Mr. Anil Saraf (AB Group), Mr. Abhijit Barooah (Premier Cryogenics), Prof. Sanjib Baruah and his colleagues (CENISEAS), Mr. Chiranjit Chaliha, Mr. D.K.Sarma, Mr. Sanjib Baruah, Ms. Sonia Nangia Chaudhuri (NECCI: North East Chamber of Commerce & Industry), Jatin Hazarika (Assam Administrative Reforms Commission), the villagers of Kurua, Darrang District, Dr. Jayanta Madhab (C-NES), Dr. Mahfuza Rahman (Rashtriya Gramin Vikas Nidhi), Mr. K. Ahmed and Mr. Gautam Dutta (Indian Institute of Entrepreneurship), Dr. Monisha Behal (North East Network), Prof. Abu Nasar Saied Ahmed (Omeo Kumar Das Institute of Social Change and Development), Mr. Sushant Kumar Pal (South Asia Enterprise Development Facility), Mr. Tarun Gogoi (Chief Minister, Assam Government), Mr. Pradyut Bordoloi (Minister, Assam Government), Mr. J.P. Saikia and his officers (NEDFi: North Eastern Development Finance Corporation), Dr. M. Ahmed (R & D Centre, NEDFi), Mr. Robin Borthakur, Mr. Harihar Dass, Mr. Rajesh Misra, Col. Retd. P.K.Ghosh, Mr. Harkirat Singh Sidhu, and Mr. Mahesh Saharia, (Bharatiya Char Parishad, Dibrugarh), Mr. Ranjeet Das and Mr. Doljit Pagging, Ms. Atu Jamir and Mr. Manas (Purvi Discovery), Bhikkhu Prajnasiri (Namphakey Buddhist Monastery), Prof. R.K.Kar, Prof. K.K.Deka, Prof. H. Goswami, Prof. S.D.Goswami, Prof. S.K.Sarma, Prof. Archana Upadhyay, Prof. Tilottoma Misra, Prof. Shiela Bore, Prof. B.N.Borthakur, Prof. R.C. Baruah, Prof. Bhim Kanta Boruah (Dibrugarh University), Prof. Kalpana Khound

viii

(D.H.S.K.Commerce College), Mr. Sarabjit Singh (Williamson Tea Assam Ltd), Mr. Sidhartha Sharma (J. Thomas & Co.), Mr. M.C.Bore (Coal India Ltd), Mr. Sarma, Mr. Mahantha, and Mr. Nandan Saikia (Indian Oil Corporation), Mr. J.K. Talukder, Mr. Mohan Bhandary, Mr. Ganesh Baruah, Mr. R.K.Sachdeva, Mr. Nripen Bharali, Mr. Joyanto Borgohain, Mr. T. Hussain, Mr. Prosanto Borkakoty, Ms. Deepanjali Borborah and Mr. Bijan Goswami (Oil India Ltd.), Prof. S. Sengupta, Prof. Farida Ahmed Das and their students (Department of Anthropology, Dibrugarh University), Mr. Mr. Sudhir Nath (Library, Dibrugarh University), Prof. A.C.Bhagabati, Prof. Birinchi Kumar Medhi, and Dr. S.K.Roy (Guwahati University), Mr. Shantikam Hazarika, Dr. N.N.Sarma, Dr. A.K.Sharma, Dr. R.P.Kakoti, and Ms. K.B. Baruah (Assam Institute of Management), Dr. M.S. Prabhakara (Special Correspondent, The Hindu and Frontline), and Prof. Imtiaz, Ahmed (Dhaka University).

Editors

ix